Monday, August 03, 2015


This exquisitely written novel by Sophy Burnham is one that I was especially honored and delighted to blurb. Here's what I said:

"An audacious literary achievement in the tradition of Watership Down and Timbuktu, Sophy Burnham's Love, Alba takes a Washingtonian cat's eye view of love, betrayal, high society, and art theft that is at once charming and deeply wise." 

Here's the catalog copy for Love, Alba:

Love! Romance! High society! Art Theft-all told by the wise and witty, little cat Alba, who has her own feline affairs. Lorna, now over 60, has just fallen horribly, head-over heels in love-with a younger man; and worse, he's involved with her best friend, Nikki, and now Nikki, an art conservator, is caught up in international art theft, prison, and other events of everyday life in Washington, D. C. Underneath this light-hearted romp lie serious issues of aging, sexual desire, friendship, sacrifice, and glimpses into the spiritual realm for which Sophy Burnham, the visionary behind the angels phenomenon, is best known. As with her other bestsellers, just reading this inspiring book leaves you happy. 
SOPHY BURNHAM, awarded "Daughter of Mark Twain," is the author of fourteen books, award-winning plays, radio plays, children's books, investigative reporting and short stories. She is best known for her spiritual writing, including A Book of Angels and The Treasure of Montségur. Her works are translated into twenty-six languages. An engaging speaker, she appeared on Oprah (twice), on Larry King Live, Good Morning America, CBS Morning News, and scores of other TV and radio programs. She has spoken at venues as varied as the IMF, St. Louis Art Museum, churches, conferences, bookstores and National Storytellers Association. 

< But my writing assistant, Washi,
is not sure about any novels featuring cats >